When: March 16-April 14
Where: Gadsden Public Library

In the spring of 2014, representatives of the Alabama Center for the Book and the Alabama Writers’ Forum with a committee of readers, writers and scholars met to decide how best to honor the rich legacy of native Alabamians who have earned their reputations in the literary arts. From those initial meetings, came the Alabama Writers Hall of Fame. Like the Alabama Music Hall of Fame, the Alabama Sports Hall of Fame and the Alabama Women’s Hall of Fame, the Alabama Writers Hall of Fame recognizes those professionals who have proved outstanding in their field. Those being honored in the 2015 inaugural class were: Helen Norris Bell, Rick Bragg, Andrew Glaze, Johnson Jones Hooper, Zora Neale Hurston, Helen Keller, Harper Lee, William March, Albert Murray, Sena Jeter Naslund, Sonia Sanchez, and Augusta Jane Evans Wilson. The 2016 class includes: Edward O. Wilson, Fannie Flagg, Rodney Jones, Rebecca Gilman, Truman Capote, T.S. Stribling, Margaret Walker, Mary Ward Brown and Sequoyah.

The Gadsden Public Library is proud to host a traveling exhibition of the 2016 class beginning Thursday, March 16th

For further information, please contact: Craig at GPL (256) 549-4699 x120